Rosalind Franklin Society Awards Recognize Outstanding Contributions from Women and Minorities

Women in STEM
Credit: lemono / 1331900129 / Royalty-free / iStock / Getty Images Plus

The 2022 Rosalind Franklin Society (RFS) Awards in Science, recognizing outstanding peer-reviewed research by women and underrepresented minorities in STEM, have been announced. The anthology of award winners is available digitally on the Rosalind Franklin Society website as well as in print.

RFS, in partnership with Mary Ann Liebert, Inc., launched this prestigious annual award for the best paper by a woman or underrepresented minority in science in each of the publisher’s more than 100 peer-reviewed journals with the goal of highlighting the important contributions of these scientists and providing role models and mentors for younger scientists following in their footsteps. A total of $100,000 has been allocated for this year’s award winners.

“The 21st century in its first two decades has brought an overwhelming productivity in science, engineering, and technology to our global society,” said Rita R. Colwell, PhD, president of the Rosalind Franklin Society, director, National Science Foundation (1998–2004), professor, University of Maryland and Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, and founder of CosmosID.

“What has been lacking, however,” Colwell continues, “is the recognition of those who have contributed to these rapidly evolving human accomplishments—namely the underrecognized hence underappreciated scientists, engineers, physicians, and technical workers who are not white males, yet are making powerful discoveries and contributing to many interdisciplinary connections.”

The anthology includes a biography of each winner and an abstract of their selected work. The book is a remarkable compendium of research in science, engineering, and medicine that has been accomplished by outstanding investigators.

The RFS Awards in Science 2022 was produced with generous support from the Rita Allen Foundation, Lyda Hill Philanthropies, and the Warren Albert Foundation.