Broadcast Date: November 20, 2020
Time: 10:00 am PT, 1:00 pm ET, 19:00 CET

CRISPR pioneer Jennifer Doudna, PhD (University of California, Berkeley/HHMI) was recently awarded the 2020 Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Emmanuelle Charpentier, PhD, a microbiologist at the Max Planck Institute in Berlin.

In 2012, the Doudna and Charpentier labs teamed up to publish a landmark paper in which they adapted the CRISPR microbial anti-viral defense system to create a programmable method for gene targeting. The work provided the foundation for CRISPR genome editing, which has become not only a ubiquitous research tool used around the world, but also applied in clinical gene therapy, diagnostics, agriculture, and many other applications. 

Doudna has embraced her leadership role, spearheading vital discussions about the ethics of hereditary genome editing, championing the value of basic academic research, and serving as an inspirational role model for women in science.

The GEN/RFS “Women in Science” series is thrilled to host Jennifer Doudna in a live, candid “fireside chat”. Join Jennifer and some special guests for conversation and celebration of a truly groundbreaking scientist.

Webinar produced with support from:

Horizon logo

 

Jennifer Doudna,
Jennifer Doudna, PhD
University of California, Berkeley/HHMI

This is the 4th webinar in a series co-hosted with:

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.