July 1, 2012 (Vol. 32, No. 13)


Charles F. Wagner Jr.

Charles F. Wagner Jr. is now evp and CFO of Bruker. Wagner joined Bruker as a member of its board of directors and the audit committee of the board in 2010. He has also served as evp, finance and administration and CFO of Progress Software.

LaserGen appointed Mimi Healy, Ph.D., as CEO and to its board of directors…Synthetic Biologics appointed Carol Reed, M.D., as svp, clinical and regulatory affairs and Jeffrey J. Kraws as an independent, nonexecutive chairman of the board…Sinovac named Danny Chung CFO…Lannett added Paul Taveira to its board of directors.


Laura L. Parks, Ph.D.

DSM Pharmaceuticals appointed Laura L. Parks, Ph.D., as president and business unit director. Dr. Parks currently works for DSM as svp, marketing and sales and has worked there since 2008. Prior to that, Laura worked for World Financial Group and at Solae (a division of DuPont) as vp, sales.

Provectus Pharmaceuticals appointed Jan E. Koe to its board of directors and Doug Ulman to its corporate advisory board…F-star appointed John Haurum, M.D., Ph.D., as CEO; Jane Dancer, Ph.D., as COO; and Sharon Grimster as vp, development…Lisa M. DeFrancesco is now vp, global investment relations at Watson Pharmaceuticals.


Frank Hsu, M.D.

Zyngenia appointed Frank Hsu, M.D., as CMO. Dr. Hsu is a medical oncologist and immunologist who most recently served as senior medical director in the transplant and oncology division at Genzyme.

TapImmune added James W. Fuller to its board of directors…Jerome Zeldis, M.D., Ph.D., joined Alliqua’s board of directors…Ziopharm Oncology named Jason A. Amello evp and CFO…Beech Tree Labs added William J. Ryan to its board of directors…IntegenX named David V. Smith COO…Generex Biotechnology added Kathy D. Miller, M.D., and Hope S. Rugo, M.D., to the scientific advisory board of its subsidiary Antigens Express.


Cynthia Collins

Cynthia Collins joined GenVec as president and CEO. Collins previously served as group vp, cellular analysis business of Beckman Coulter from 2007 to 2011. Prior to joining Beckman Coulter, she served as CEO of Sequoia Pharmaceuticals.

Gregory A. Bonfiglio, J.D., joined California Stem Cell’s board of directors…Eric Hedrick, M.D., joined Epizyme as CMO…Syndax Pharmaceuticals appointed Luke Evnin, Ph.D., to its board of directors…iPierian appointed Pamela B. Conley, Ph.D., as vp, research…Donald J. Hayden Jr. is now executive chairman of Insmed’s board of directors…DNAnexus appointed Marc Olesen as president and COO.


Kristina Robson, Ph.D.

BioStorage Technologies appointed Kristina Robson, Ph.D., as senior director of comprehensive solutions. Dr. Robson most recently was the scientific director of BioPharma Services for EMD Millipore’s Discovery & Development Solutions organization.

Ruga appointed Jean-Michel Vernier, Ph.D., as head of medicinal chemistry and added David Matthews, Ph.D., to its scientific advisory board…Organovo appointed Eric Michael David, M.D., J.D., as CSO…EnVivo Pharmaceuticals added Alfred Sandrock, M.D., Ph.D., to its board of directors.


Bruce Seeley

NanoString Technologies named Bruce Seeley svp and general manager, diagnostics. Seeley was most recently evp, commercial at Seattle Genetics. Before that, he worked for Genentech, most recently as senior director, marketing, HER2 Brands. He has also held positions at Aventis Pharma and Bristol-Myers Squibb.

Paratek Pharmaceuticals appointed Dennis Molnar as president, CEO, and director, and Evan Loh, M.D., as CMO and chairman of its board of directors…Ian Shott is now president of AMRI Europe…David Altshuler, M.D., Ph.D., joined Vertex Pharmaceuticals’ board of directors as an independent director.

Previous articleAdvertorial: DSM Pharma Biotechnology
Next articleEradicating Errors in Third-Gen Sequencing for de Novo Genome Assembly